Another fine day for the 2 Hillforts, and 68 runners gathered at the start line for this varied and scenic race route, which takes in the hill forts of Penycloddiau and Moel Arthur on the Clwydian Range. NWRRC’s Micheal Corrales and Penny Lane’s Lawrence Eccles led things out, followed by last year’s winner, Jez Brown of Buckley. In the ladies race, Carolyn Stamper Clark was again involved at the front, leading the the ladies race ahead of the chasing Emma Weston of Congleton. After the strength sapping climbs of Penycloddiau and Moel Arthur, just under 4 very runnable miles of descent with the odd flat section, is often where the races are won and lost. Micheal and Lawrence were closely matched all the way round, and Micheal just managed to keep the latter at bay to win in 1:04.59. Lawrence Eccles finishing just 14 secs later with 1:05.13. Jez Brown completed the top 3, with 1:07.32.

The ladies race was also a close affair, as Carolyn Stamper Clark was just ahead of Emma Weston as the climb up Moel Arthur started, but it was Emma who came through for the win, with 1:20.07. Carolyn less than 90 secs behind with 1:21.36 for an excellent second place. Right behind was third placed lady, Ann Marie Jones, of WFRA – in 1:22.05.

Category winners were MOPEN Chris Collins (Helsby), M40 Toby Hart, M50 Paul Robertson (Wirral Vikings) and M60 Stephen P Jones (Eryri). FOPEN Ceri Belshaw (Denbigh), F40 Phillipa Roberts, F50 Wendy Hooson (OutFit), F60 Kim Braznell (Mercia).

Thanks to all volunteers for enabling the event to take place, to SJ Photography for what I’m sure will be excellent photos of the day, to the Kinmel Arms who allowed us to base the race there, and to you the runners for supporting the event with participation.

Hope to see you all again next year….

1Micheal CorralesMNWRRC1:04.59
2Lawrence EcclesMPenny Lane Striders1:05.13
3Jez BrownM40Buckley Runners1:07.32
4Chris CollinsMHelsby1:08.58
5Mark BurleyMMacclesfield Harriers1:09.59
6Tony WoodMDenbigh Harriers1:11.07
7Toby HartM401:12.48
8Daniel JonesMDenbigh Harriers1:13.13
9Stephen P JonesM60Eryri Harriers1:14.47
10Neil Coppack M40Clwydian Range Runners1:16.55
11Will BarnardM401:17.35
12Ross WhiteMPenny Lane Striders1:18.01
13Emma WestonF40Congleton Harriers1:20.07
14Stephen RobertsM60Oswestry Olympians1:20.53
15Carolyn Stamper-ClarkF401:21.36
16Ann-Marie JonesF60WFRA1:22.05
17Paul RobertsonM50Wirral Vikings1:22.23
18Neil OwenM601:23.19
19Ceri BelshawFDenbigh Harriers1:23.31
20Vic BelshawM50Denbigh Harriers1:23.32
21Martin CortvriendM60Denbigh Harriers1:23.50
22Duncan JonesM50Denbigh Harriers1:24.08
23Mike AisbittM40Skelmersdale Boundary Harriers1:24.20
24Katie JohnsonFPenny Lane Striders1:24.30
25Tim HargreavesM40Buckley Runners1:24.49
26Richard BorneM50Mysteruns1:24.54
27Peter Gore ReesM50OutFit1:24.59
28Danny JenkinsM50Wirral Vikings1:25.19
29David GreenMPensby1:26.35
30Philippa RobertsF401:26.39
31David LiveseyM601:26.55
32Andy McGivernMPensby1:27.03
33Jennifer AdamsF1:27.20
34Jim JonesM50Helsby1:28.36
35Paul DuddleMOutFit1:29.47
36Ursula MooreF1:30.28
37Katy BaughFDenbigh Harriers1:31.01
38Zoe RobertsFOutFit1:31.02
39Kim BraznellF60Mercia1:31.24
40Arwel JonesM50Prestatyn R.C1:31.30
41Charles AshleyM50Wrexham A.C1:32.29
42Mandy PeffersF40Clwydian Range Runners1:32.45
43Robert WilsonM501:33.04
44Oanagh JaquestF40Penny Lane Striders1:33.46
45Rowenna DarlingtonFCanicross Clwyd1:34.37
46Alice WilliamsF40Clwydian Range Runners1:36.20
47David SayM60Denbigh Harriers1:36.32
48Andy PeffersM40Clwydian Range Runners1:36.38
49Andrew PettittM40Pensby1:36.48
50Tony ManM40Penny Lane Striders1:36.51
51Emma LynchF1:38.15
52Drew ThompsonM40Runstrong1:39.30
53Mark Roberts M50OutFit1:40.06
54Bill OwenM60OutFit1:42.42
55Jenny GibbsF1:46.43
56Melanie LiuFWrexham A.C1:46.53
57Wendy HoosonF50OutFit1:47.51
58Anwen BrownFDenbigh Harriers1:48.16
59Simon RobertsM50OutFit1:49.27
60Julia Porter DaviesF501:54.36
61Catrin CasemoreF40OutFit1:57.14
62Karen JonesF40OutFit2:08.15
63Linda MckeownF50OutFit2:08.59
64Ceri HodgkinsonF2:09.58
65Suzanna LeighF2:10.29
66Vicky CortvriendF60Denbigh Harriers2:14.49
67Paula WakefieldF502:37.16
68Chris BaldwinM60Denbigh HarriersRET